Defense of Texas Theft Charges
In the State of Texas, any theft of property valued under $2,500.00 is a misdemeanor. Classes of theft misdemeanors are categorized in the State of Texas as follows:
- Class C Misdemeanor—theft of property valued under $100.00
- Class B Misdemeanor—theft of property valued between $100.00 and $749.99
- Class A Misdemeanor—theft of property valued between $750.00 and $2,499.99
The punishment for a Class C Misdemeanor is a fine up to $500. Theft that constitutes a Class B Misdemeanor is punishable by up to 180 days in jail and/or a fine up to $2,000. A conviction of a theft constituting a Class A Misdemeanor is punishable by a jail term up to one year and/or a fine up to $4,000.
Although the jail time, fines, and probation-related costs for a theft conviction can be severe, these are not the only costs associated with a theft conviction. If you are accused of shoplifting, then the merchant may also be able to recover actual damages, plus additional civil damages of up to $1,000 and attorneys fees and court costs from you. Moreover, theft is considered a crime of moral turpitude; and a conviction for theft of any amount can make it very difficult to find a job, be admitted to college and graduate programs, or be admitted to certain professions. A theft conviction can have a significant, adverse, and long-lasting effect on your life and your family.
Contact a Dallas Criminal Defense Attorney
If you have been accused of a theft crime, then call the Law Office of Pete Rowe to speak to an aggressive attorney who will vigorously defend you and your rights. The Law Office of Pete Rowe will fight for you so that you can receive the best possible outcome for your case.